Full Rider List Announced for Red Bull King of the Air 2020

KOTA rider news

Has KOTA delivered a more open and exciting field for the 2020 event?

The final line-up of riders for the new qualifying rounds, (which Red Bull are calling ‘Rounds One and Two’) that takes place at a mobile venue in Cape Town within the contest window of 1st – 16th February. Depending on the conditions, the venue for rounds one and two could even be at either the Witsand / Misty Cliffs area or more likely, Kite Beach, Blouberg.

The top six riders from last year are already awaiting in the main event (which Red Bull are calling Round Three) to see which six riders will join them from rounds one and two.


The biggest news is that France’s Angely Bouillot progressed through the video vote with a wildcard and will be the first woman to compete in the King of the Air in Cape Town!

Strapless freestyle phenomenon and 4 x Wave World Champion, Airton Cozzolino, has also made the cut, also with a wildcard!

There are also five South African riders in the mix; the most locals we’ve ever seen.

Angely Bouillot Red Bull King of the Air woman

Angely Bouillot / Photo: Craig Kolesky – Red Bull Content Pool


South Africans Ross Dillon-Player and Stuart Downey earned their spots by winning the Red Bull Mega Loop Challenge and the Maui Kite Fest respectively, while Dominican rider Luis Alberto Cruz and Brit Lewis Crathern won ‘King of the Air’ satellite qualifying events in the DR and Taiwan.

Alongside these satellite event winners 14 riders have come through a highly competitive video submission process, overseen by the King of the Air judges. These 18 riders will do battle in rounds one and two of the mobile event in January. 

Out of those qualifying rounds one and two, six riders will advance to take on the top six riders from the 2019 Red Bull King of the Air main event at Kite Beach in ‘Round Three’!


TOP SIX FROM 2019 (in seeded order, already into main event Round Three)
Kevin Langeree (NED)
Jesse Richman (USA)
Liam Whaley (ESP)
Nick Jacobsen (DEN)
Lasse Walker (NED)
Aurelien Petreau (FRA)

FLY-TO THE RED BULL KING OF THE AIR WINNERS (in alphabetical order to Rounds One and Two)
Lewis Crathern (GBR)
Luis Alberto Cruz (DR)
Stuart Downey (RSA)
Ross-Dillon Player (RSA)

VIDEO ENTRY WINNERS (in alphabetical order to Rounds One and Two)
Steven Akkersdijk (NED)
Angely Bouillot (FRA) – wildcard
Airton Cozzolino (ITA) – wildcard
Ryan De Witte (NED)
Joshua Emanuel (RSA)
Janek Grzegorzewsky (POL)
Aaron Hadlow (GBR)
Clemet Huot (FRA)
Marc Jacobs (NZ)
Posito Martinez (DOM)
Antonin Rangin (FRA)
Reno Romeu (BRA)
Oswald Smith (RSA)
Jason van der Spuy (RSA)


Red Bull King of the Air 2020 riders


• 31 Jan: Registration day + opening ceremony
• 01 – 16 Feb: Event open window (16 days / 3 weekends)


More at: www.redbullkingoftheair.com 

Back to News

Related Articles